VoteID 2011 (September 28th-30th, 2011, Tallinn, Estonia)

Call for Papers

Third international conference on E-voting and Identity
28-30 September 2011, Tallinn, Estonia

Motivation and Scope

Electronic voting is a very active research area covering a broad range of issues, from computer security and cryptographic issues to human psychology and legal issues. The aim of VoteID is to bring together researchers and practitioners from academia, industry and governmental institutions, all working on e-voting systems. The scope covers all aspects of electronic voting systems, including, but not limited to:

  • design and evaluation of e-voting systems
  • voting theories incl. social choice theory
  • security requirements and formal analysis of e-voting systems
  • the role of identification in e-voting
  • the role of identity management systems for e-voting
  • cryptographic voting schemes
  • further methods for reconciling voter identification with vote anonymity
  • usability and accessibility issues
  • deployment and lifecycle concerns for e-voting systems
  • implementation issues and trade-offs
  • interdisciplinary issues in e-voting and identification
  • verifiable election technologies

The proceedings of VoteID 2007 and VoteID 2009 appeared as volumes 4896 and 5767 in Springer LNCS. The proceedings of VoteID 2011 will be published in LNCS as well.

Submission Guidelines

Authors are invited to submit papers describing original work. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop with proceedings. Submissions should be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgement or obvious references. Each submission should have a contact author who should provide full contact information (email, phone, fax, mailing address). At least one author of each accepted paper will be required to present the work at the conference.

Papers must be formatted in LaTex, using the Springer LNCS LaTex style, and submitted as PDF files. Please check at for style and formatting guidelines. The length of the submitted paper should not exceed 15 pages, excluding the bibliography and appendices, using the Springer LNCS style.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: June 15 June 5
Notification: July 19
Camera-ready version: August 15
Event: 28-30 September 2011.

Program Committee

Josh Benaloh (Microsoft Research, USA)
Felix Brandt (Technische Universität München, Germany)
Yvo Desmedt (University College London, UK)
Edith Elkind (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Jens Groth (University College London, UK)
Joseph Lorenzo Hall (UC Berkeley and Princeton, USA)
Hugo Jonker (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
Aggelos Kiayias (PC chair) (University of Connecticut, USA)
Helger Lipmaa (PC chair) (Cybernetica AS and Tallinn University, Estonia)
Tal Moran (Harvard, USA)
Rene Peralta (NIST, USA)
Olivier Pereira (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
Mark Ryan (University of Birmingham, UK)
Peter Ryan (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
Berry Schoenmakers (University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands)
Jörg Schwenk (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
Vanessa Teague (University of Melbourne, Australia)
Melanie Volkamer (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
Moti Yung (Columbia University and Google, USA)

Program Chairs:General Chair:
Helger Lipmaa, University of Tartu,
Aggelos Kiayias, University of Connecticut
Email: voteid2011<at>
Helger Lipmaa, University of Tartu.